DENVER, CO — SC2001, the conference of high-performance networking and computing capped the most successful programs in its history by recognizing outstanding achievements and contributions in these fields.

The conference attracted nearly 200 exhibitors and over 5200 attendees, each of whom on average will spend between $3.5- and $7-million on planned purchases as a result of the week-long event.

The awards presented this afternoon honored a range of people and their accomplishments.

The primary award was the third annual IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award. This honor recognizes innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that exemplify Seymour Cray’s creative spirit.

This year it was awarded to John L. Hennessy, President of Stanford University. Included is a $10,000 honorarium funded by an SGI endowment.

The Gorden Bell Prize is named after the Digital Equipment vice president. It is awarded annually at SC for the best peak computer performance, the best performance/price ratio and for a special category.

The Gordon Bell winner was the team of Toshiyuki Fukushige and Junichiro Makino, who achieved a simulation of black holes in a galactic center at a computer processing speed of 11.55 trillion floating operations per second.

The Gordon Bell Price/Performance prize went to Joon Hwang, Seung Kim and Chang Lee. Their study of impact locating on aircraft structure by low-cost cluster cost 24.6 cents/Mflops, or less than a U.S. quarter per 1-million floating operations per second.

The winner of the Gordon Bell Prize in the special category of supporting efficient execution in the heterogeneous distributed computing environments with Cactus and Globus. The winner was the team of Gabrielle Allen,Thomas Dramlitsch, Ian Foster, Nick Karonis, Matei Ripeanu, Edward Seidel and Brian Toonen.

The Best Student Paper was awarded to a computational grid application of tomography, a technique to reconstruct the three-dimensional structure of an object from a series of two-dimensional projections. The award went to a team of Shava Smallen, Henri Cazsanova and Francine Berman, and carries a $500 cash award.

Finally, the award for Best Research Poster went to Sumir Chandra, Johan Steensland and Manish Parashar.